Missouri Whitetails - Your Missouri Hunting Resource banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
303 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Last Friday, I bought a 2009 Dream Season GX. Starting Saturday, I started putting on my rest and sights from my old clunker to the new one. I started shooting and got my 20 yd. pin sighted in perfectly for my field tips.

Problem-today I started shooting my practice broadheads. The first shot was perfect up and down but about 5 inches to the left. I thought I pulled. I shot again and the same thing.

I shot a field tip again and perfect.

What is the cause of my broadheads pulling like this?:thinking::thinking:

Thanks in advance.

·
Registered
7,902 Posts
Mechanicals or Fixed?

·
2,842 Posts
Most fixed blade broadheads I have shot do not shoot the same as my field points. I now shoot mechanical (rage) and they hit exactly the same

·
Registered
4,660 Posts
Most likely fixed heads...and very common. A lot of, if not most fixed heads have to be sighted in, or tuned for your bow...they simply will not fly like a field point.

Have you paper tuned the bow to see how well the arrows coming off? I would start there if you haven't. This is the reason I went with the 2 blade rages this year, they in fact fly very close to my field points, but there's a lot of issues being posted about them breaking, not opening, etc...

So you could either try a good mechanical, or tune / sight your bow to the heads you have.

I was shooting the Montec G5's and those things were all over the place out of my set up, shooting about 4" from where my field tips were hitting.

·
Registered
19,796 Posts
Get ya the rage's....see if that solves it, im betting it will.

Mine shoot exactly like my field points :2thumbsup:

With fixed, I had exactly the same problem you're having

·
Mountain lion hunter
28,312 Posts
Move your rest to the right 1/32" or maybe a 1/16"