Missouri Whitetails - Your Missouri Hunting Resource banner
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
707 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am totally new to trout fishing - I have mostly fished for bass, crappie and catfish for the past 25 years. Would Taney be a good place to try during the 3rd weekend in January. I was considering bringing my boat down with a couple friends to see how we can do?

I appreciate your time, thought and knowledge. Hope everyone has had a good year and is looking forward to Christmas here in the next week!

Thanks.
Jeff

·
Registered
4,568 Posts
Yep it sure would be a good time late jan is my favorite time to fish the como have fun be careful awfully cold down there that time of year

·
707 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Timmy - thanks. Do you go down there to fish every year?

Originally posted by timmytaters17
Yep it sure would be a good time late jan is my favorite time to fish the como have fun be careful awfully cold down there that time of year

·
Registered
9,727 Posts
we go alot to the como in jan and feb we will be there in first week of feb if the water is runnin good times we fish them all kinds of ways drift power bait throw cleo spoons at them rapalas at them or go to the dam at night and if water is runnin get out them jerk baits very cold but worth it

·
Lunch break commander
8,344 Posts
I love to fish just below the dam. no boats but the fishing is good while wading providing they are not running a bunch of water. I hear the spin fishing is great but I have only fly fished while at tanny. If the big fish that bread in oct are still haning around they should be hungry.

great place. with evey cast you could hook the next record.

·
Registered
12,608 Posts