Missouri Whitetails - Your Missouri Hunting Resource banner
1 - 20 of 61 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
New to the forum and justed wanted to bring up something. Its long but I just wanted to put in my 2 cents and see what some of you all thought.
I'm amazed and concerned at how many button bucks have been shot this season so far. I understand that some hunt strictly for meat rather than to manage the Missouri deer herd for quality bucks but essentially this season, a major dent has been put in the young bucks that could have had potential in a few years.
I have been putting out 3-4 Trail Cams for the last 5 years on my spot in central Missouri and I have seen a huge decline in the number of deer this year. Especially bucks. I normally have 6-10 different bucks that are 2 1/2 or older show up and this year, I only had one show up on trail cam and he was a 5 year old 150 class deer. My cams are in good spots that have always had quite a few nice bucks as well as younger bucks show up. I put my cams up in late August and keep them out until gun season. This year, I didn't have one young buck show up. The doe sightings were down big time as well.
Some say the standing corn kept the deer contained thru most of the season but I seriously think the liberal seasons have put a major dent in our deer herd. I really feel that the mdc has went far beyond just managing our herd to possibly depleting it big time. We can blame the weather, standing crops etc... but the fact remains, there are alot of hunters out there that have seen way less deer this year than in previous years. Sure, there are still deer out there but I honestly think that there may need to be a change next season to tighten up the allowed harvest numbers. I know alot of us, including myself don't want to see that but I think it may be necessary to rebuild the population. Some of my buddy's that hunt in Northern Missouri have experienced the same thing.

·
Registered
18,570 Posts