Missouri Whitetails - Your Missouri Hunting Resource banner

1 - 20 of 47 Posts

·
Registered
886 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am shopping for a new scope and I am no expert when it comes to optics.

If you were looking for a quality scope for fairly long range 250 to 400 yards would be the max, what would you buy? Trying to stay in the $300 range if possible.

·
Registered
32,122 Posts
You're main responses are going be Vortex or Leupold.

Reactions: CamoNinja

·
6,592 Posts
Vortex viper HS long range, gets you the elevation turret. Last I saw was 379 at midway.

·
Máistir an pointe hocht.
69,795 Posts
$300 makes it tough, I personally like the Leupold VX3's.

I think they start at about $400 though.

·
Máistir an pointe hocht.
69,795 Posts
I will look at both of these. $400 is still not crazy I just don't want to spend $800 on a scope right now.
A vx3 3.5x10x40 is a $400 scope. Will do great on deer out to 400 yds.

·
Registered
8,417 Posts
I will look at both of these. $400 is still not crazy I just don't want to spend $800 on a scope right now.
It's worth every penny to save up and put good glass on a rifle.I have had cheaper scopes most my life.Get a 4.5-14x50 VX3i with the CDS dial on top of it.I think they can be had for around $600.I rather a $300 rifle with a $1000 scope vs a $1000 rifle with $300 scope.Thats just my opinion tho but at minimum get a Vortex Viper or above

·
Registered
2,837 Posts
It's worth every penny to save up and put good glass on a rifle.I have had cheaper scopes most my life.Get a 4.5-14x50 VX3i with the CDS dial on top of it.I think they can be had for around $600.I rather a $300 rifle with a $1000 scope vs a $1000 rifle with $300 scope.Thats just my opinion tho but at minimum get a Vortex Viper or above
That was always my thinking. I bought a Leupold 3x9 when I was 17 years old. That was some serious hay putting up money back then. I still have the scope and it is still clear.