Missouri Whitetails - Your Missouri Hunting Resource banner
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
651 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Bought one in .243 last Feb. shot good but about a month ago I shot it got a bullet stuck in the bbl. next shot case blew up and rurined the bolt face, plunger extractor,firing pin etc. sent it to Savage got it back yesterday. Went to the range a while ago and it shot better than ever. on the fifth shot the case blew, primer backed out and case is stuck in chamber. Boult inees to be rebuilt again and rifle headspaced. I'm tired of the hassel. If some one wants it to use for a special project, I will let it go for 150.00 as is plus postage. (you can get different bbls from Mid-way for 129.00) I still have the box all the papers and warrenty card etc. I'm done with it.

·
Registered
651 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Yes. I've been loading for about 50 yrs. I have used this load in about 10 different .243's with no problems. 43 grn of imr 4350 and Hornady 100 grain. Most 5 books call for 43.5 even hornady and Winchester.:mad:

·
Registered
13,827 Posts
Better buy some NEW loading manuals! That load is 2.5 grains OVER max in the latest Hornady books. Powders ain't static, they change formulations over the years, and the new manuals reflect that. Your load is TOO HOT.

·
Registered
2,693 Posts
sounded like high pressure to me glenn.
no offense intended bear, over pressured my 11-87 once because of a stupid
mistake.
a word to the wise, when reloading, check, and check again.
after that check again.
be safe.

·
Registered
13,827 Posts
He missed rule #1, always start low, and work your way up. Rules 2-10 don't mean squat if you don't do #1. The new ways they measure pressure mean lower loads now, too, as the older loads were hotter than they should have been. It doesn't matter if the first ten rifles liked that load, if #11 blows up in your face (TWICE!!!!!!):neuspeuter:

·
Registered
13,827 Posts