Quotas

Discussion in 'MWT Community Bulletin Board' started by rat, Mar 24, 2006.

1. rat

rat Legbone

Dec 13, 2005
    At the risk of getting this post pulled, I am gonna speak my mind!

I got the newsletter from my college today and there was a picture of 20 or so MDC wildlife agents on the cover. The college I attended (in the early 80's) had a program that was intended for folks that want to be a conservation agent. Nice mix of biology and criminal justice... I will not mention the school.

Anyway, I graduated with the afformentioned degree with a minor in criminal justice to boot. I struggled to get on with the dept as an agent for bout 6 yrs. In each agent class, about half of what they hired were either women or minorities or both which left ME in the minority. Alls well that ends well I suppose cause that was 20yrs ago.

My gripe is, that on the cover of that newsletter, as I mentioned, there were 20plus conservation agents... NONE of which was either female or of minority status. :mad2::mad2:

What do you think about these dang quotas that eliminate good candidates in favor of folks that dont even hold that job for more that a year or two? :soapbox::soapbox:

2. membergone

membergone New Member

Jan 17, 2004
    What do you think we think rat? ;)

Think also that 20 years ago the department was in catch up mode. They had to get their percentages right which were WAY off up to that point.

3. Keith

Keith New Member

Dec 13, 2002
    Springfield, MO.
    I agree.

4. rat

rat Legbone

Dec 13, 2005
    Problem is that 2/3 folks listed there joined from between 1975 and 1988...

why wouldnt they have a good mixture of folks in that picture if that were really the goal? Where are all the minorities that they hired back then to bolster their ratios?

5. Rebel2

Rebel2 Well-Known Member

Dec 16, 2003
    Ozark, MO
    well, i cant speak my real opinion on it.. but to sum it up, i think its a big load of "stuff" :soapbox: