Question about smokeless and regular powder for ML's

Discussion in 'Muzzleloaders' started by Doubleshot75, Nov 11, 2010.

1. Doubleshot75

Doubleshot75 Active Member

Nov 6, 2006
    I've been researching ML's, and I see that some are approved for smokeless. Is this something I should be looking for when shopping ML's? What are the advantages, disadvantages, etc about the two powder options?

Thanks in advance,

DS

2. callaojoe

callaojoe Máistir an pointe hocht.

Jan 21, 2004
    N/C Missouri
    I'd stick with the BP/BP substitute rifles if it were me.:shrug:

3. Doubleshot75

Doubleshot75 Active Member

Nov 6, 2006
    [rquote=1891426&tid=131749&author=callaojoe]I'd stick with the BP/BP substitute rifles if it were me.:shrug:[/rquote]

Pardon my ignorance, but what's the difference between BP and BP substitute?

Thansk again..

4. callaojoe

Jan 21, 2004
    N/C Missouri
    BP is real black powder, and BP substitute is the stuff like pyrodex, and Triple 7. I am no expert on the topic, but the substitute products are supposed to be less volatile than the real stuff, and that's why places like wally world can sell it off the shelf. The real stuff, is subject to haz-mat rules, and stuff like that.

Also, the substitute powders claim to be less corrosive, but I am not so sure about that. I think, that is also why the shotgun primer type of ignition came about, as the sub powders are a little harder to touch off...:shrug:

Basically, I think most fellas shoot the substitute stuff, just cause it's much easier to get a hold of, and you can get it in pellet form.

If you are just wanting to get into ML shooting, for hunting.... I'd say just go with the 777 or pyrodex stuff. Personally, I like the loose powder, as I think it ignites better, and you can tailor your charge to your rifle. I shoot 90 gr 777 loose behind a 240 gr XTP sabot in my inlines, and they like that just fine. About a 1.5" group at 100 yds.... And that works for me.

5. inkwithattitude