Missouri Whitetails - Your Missouri Hunting Resource banner
1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi guys,

I am new to Missouri as I have just graduated college and accepted a job in St. Louis. As a hunter from Michigan I’m excited to try new areas.

Without sharing all your secrets, can anyone point me in the right direction for public land that is worthwhile? I have bow and rifle.

Thank you!

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
What Area/County will you be residing? How far are you willing to travel? Welcome To The Show Me State!
Thank you! I will be living in St. Louis County. For typical weekend hunts I’d be willing to probably drive as far as 1.5 hours, but if I take time off work I’d be willing to go maybe 3 hours give or take. Hope that narrows things down. Maybe as far west as Columbia. I’ve also heard that the hunting is better to the north than the south?

·
Registered
486 Posts
I’ve also heard that the hunting is better to the north than the south?
That's a Quality versus Quantity argument in my opinion. Hunted up north for quite a few years and saw bigger deer but on my property in the Ozarks I've gotten many more opportunities.

There's a booklet that lists all of the public areas and the regulations whether it's bow only, antlerless, alternative methods..etc and the MDC website has a lookup tool to find spots. The lookup tool doesn't show you all the places to hunt and only lists 3 in the whole state for some reason but that booklet is gospel.

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter · #8 ·
That's a Quality versus Quantity argument in my opinion. Hunted up north for quite a few years and saw bigger deer but on my property in the Ozarks I've gotten many more opportunities.