Missouri Whitetails - Your Missouri Hunting Resource banner
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
158 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Well as you can tell by my title, I am a newbie to the site. I have been lurking for awhile and decided to say hi. Also I just got my first bow last spring, it was hoyt powerhawk. And was wondering if you would give a newbie any tips, on how to hold the bow steadier when i have it drew back?

·
Grrrrrrr
29,979 Posts
There are some excellent shooters on this forum and they may contradict what I say but a few tips as a place to start:

I assume you aren't shooting a draw weight that's too heavy for you and that your bow isn't too long or too short in draw length.

It isn't necessary to be able to hold the pin perfectly still on the target. For me my pin hovers gently around the spot I've picked and I time my release to put the arrow where I want it if that makes sense. I'm not talking about a lot of movement...very little in fact but if you are trying to hit a freckle at 20 yards you aren't going to be able to hold your pin on that freckle if ya know what I mean. If you are experiencing excessive movement and your bow fits you correctly try loosening your grip on the bow, relaxing your stance so that you are standing solidly using bone structure to hold your posture rather than muscle tension, and make sure you are using back tension from the back of your shoulder (the shoulder blade area) to hold your bow at full draw rather than using your forearm and bicep.

Does all of that make sense? If not you need to get together with an experienced archer and have them watch you shoot. If there is a bow shop in your area, the guys working there should be able to help you if you don't have anyone else nearby.

·
Registered
17,090 Posts
[rquote=1487665&tid=103928&author=chillicothe#1]Thank you very much that makes alot of sense. I love to go out and shoot, i just wish I could consistenly hit what I am aiming at. [/rquote]