Newbie bow hunter here.

Discussion in 'Archery Hunting' started by theplastikjesus, Oct 29, 2010.

1. theplastikjesus

theplastikjesus New Member

Oct 29, 2010
    Hello, I am a newbie bow hunter getting started just now at age 32. My father lives in New Mexico, he recently sent me his old bow which is an entry level compound made by PSE. He ended up buying a Martin Warthog Mag. I guess, I'm needing some pointers or maybe some links to possible websites to get started here. Any help would be appreciated as I have never shot a compound bow, just a long bow back in high school.

Thank you in advance for any advice for a newb.

2. theplastikjesus

Oct 29, 2010
    Looked into a local archery shop here in town, they have a indoor range there I guess it's a good place to start and ask for advice, bow setup, and proper shooting technique?

3. MoBowman

MoBowman New Member

Dec 16, 2002
    Lee's Summit
    [rquote=1869135&tid=130114&author=theplastikjesus]Looked into a local archery shop here in town, they have a indoor range there I guess it's a good place to start and ask for advice, bow setup, and proper shooting technique?[/rquote]

Thats some good advice you just gave yourself. Have the shop check out the bow and make sure it fits you.....Then get with some other shooters and shoot with them....ask questions and lots of em, you will find most people will be more than happy to help out a new shooter. It's a whole new world out there, WELCOME :2thumbsup:

4. mag1

mag1 New Member

Post some of your questions on here, Im sure someone might be able to help with answers. Try www.archerytalk.com or www.3dshoots.com the posters on there give free advice so take it for what its worth, but you can learn a few things and there is links to other archery websites that may be helpful. :welcome: to the world of archery.

5. theplastikjesus

Oct 29, 2010