newbe question--- what if I get a big one?

Discussion in 'Taxidermy' started by bigredhusker, Mar 9, 2006.

1. bigredhusker

bigredhusker Member

Jan 25, 2006
    Liberty Missouri
    Ok.. I thought I'd post my question here. What should you do if you get an animal that you would like to have mounted? Remember, I'm a real beginner and i'll be field dressing a deer for the first time. If I get lucky and land something big I don't want to screw it up. Also, what would be the process for other animals (fox, bobcat, coyote, etc.) where meat isn't harvested?

thanks

2. Vector

Vector VECtor Custom Calls

Feb 11, 2003
    N/C MO
    If you're getting a full body mount done on an animal, it needs to stay fully intact. I've never heard of a taxidermist that didn't want to skin an animal themselves that was going to be mounted.

As for the deer, I'll let someone else explain that. I prefer European mounts.

Parker

3. Hoytshooter

Hoytshooter Active Member

Mar 7, 2005
    Small Buck, MO
    If you're wanting a shoulder mount on a deer, field dress it and be very careful about splitting the sternum too far. If you can do it I wouldn't split it at all. After that you would want to get it skinned asap, being sure not to cut holes in the hide, especially once you get to the front shoulders.
    Skin it down as far as you can on the neck then whack the neck off, you'll have to leave some neck and meat in there more than likely. Then if you know where you are going to have it mounted I would take it to the taxidermist immediately if possible. If not you should fold the hide skin side to skin side and freeze the whole thing.
    Not alot to it really. Main things are don't cut up the hid and get it either frozen or to the taxidermist asap.
    Once the taxidermist has it all you need to do is decide on the mount you want and wait...and be ready to open your wallet!

4. Longbow26

Longbow26 New Member

Feb 5, 2005
    Farmington, MO