Missouri Whitetails - Your Missouri Hunting Resource banner
1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
882 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm in the process of getting a muzzleloader( T/C Pro Hunter), and I was wondering if you guys had any tips for me since i'm new to muzzleloaders. I also have a few questions on primers, powders, and bullets.

Which powder should i use? I am thinking of 777 magnum pellets. Link

Which primers should i use? I'm thinking of of using the ones that T/C makes. Link

Which bullets/sabots should I use? I'm thinking of using Hornady Low Drag Sabots. Link

I'll post some pics when the gun comes in.

·
Registered
38,389 Posts
Try those you listed, see how your gun shoots...It might like that load, it might not. You'll have to experiment and see what your gun likes!!! I use 777 pellets (3), whatever 209 primers I have on hand...not sure what they are, and Hornady 250 gr SST sabots in my knight.

·
Jenny's Lackey
46,684 Posts
I prefer loose powder over pellets. 777. Allows you to tune your gun a little better. I shoot 85 grain loose 777 with 250 grain shockwaves out of my TC omega with excellent results.

·
Registered
882 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
Originally posted by Mailman
Curious....why did you choose the magnum 777?
the reviews seemed to be better for these on cabela's website. I'll try the regular 777 pellets and see how they work.

what about cleaning the gun, will i have to clean it after every shot?

Thanks for the info guys, i can't wait till i get my new gun. I'm just waiting on my uncle (he's a gun dealer) to find the best deal.

·
Confirmed Bachelor
10,482 Posts
I've found with my Remington Genesis and shooting 2 triple 7 pellets that I don't need to clean between each shot. But I'm sure everyone has a different take on this. Reason I haven't is that I've found the 250gr shockwaves still load quite easily even after 4-5 shots and still get good ignition.