Missouri Whitetails - Your Missouri Hunting Resource banner
1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Registered
2,672 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
:banana:
I am ready to start learning this art of Muzzle Loading. Who would like to help me out with some hands on? I will drive to where-ever you are, within reason of course. Any help would be greatly appreciated! Thanks MWT!
:pop:

·
Registered
1,142 Posts
Nicholas--what kind of rifle did you end up buying? Are you going to shoot pelets or loose powder?

I wouldn't call myself a pro but I've been shooting them for a few years. If you want to get together and throw some lead downrange I'd be happy to bestow what little I know upon you.

·
Registered
2,672 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Optima Pro 50 Cal, and I think I will go with the pellets. Let us get this shoot going. Being available pretty much 24/7 I am able to go anytime really, unless the wife says otherwise.....

·
Registered
8,772 Posts
Nicholas, well either Pyro pellets or T7 pellets. The T7s are more expensive. The Hornady 250 SST bullets shoot very well for most guys and gals that use them. Hornady also makes them for Thompson and it is called a Shockwave. Start out with two pellets and see what kind of accuracy you have. If you watch any of the Outdoor channels you'll see them load up with three pellets of Pyro and the 250 SST. Three pellet loads have a fairly good thump to the shooter as well. Nikon makes a scope just for this load called the 250 BDC. It is a multi reticle scope just for this load out to 250 yards. I also suggest you use a spit patch and a couple of dry ones between each shot ro those sabots get to be a bear to load. Buy lots of patches.;) Also think about getting a nice T-handle range rod while you're at it.

Jack

·
Registered
1,142 Posts
I'm pretty much limited to weekends with the occasional week day off (the next is the 14th). How does this weekend sound? I think it is going to cool off a degree or two.

·
Registered
694 Posts