MDC: Local Hunter Education Classes

Discussion in 'Missouri Outdoor News' started by MO Outdoor News, Sep 28, 2011.

  1. MO Outdoor News

    MO Outdoor News New Member

    17
    Sep 27, 2011
    To find a list of available hunter education classes, click on this link:

    http://my.register-ed.com/panel/statelanding/MO?

    If you have any further questions about where a Missouri Hunter Education Class will take place, contact your local MDC office.

    MT


    About Hunter Education

    The Goal of Hunter Education Training

    Responsible, ethical behavior and personal involvement are essential to the survival of hunting. That's why our education program provides a foundation in hunting safety and ethics. It instills responsibility, improves skills and knowledge, and encourages the involvement of beginner and veteran hunters. The course's goals are to develop hunters who demonstrate the following:

    =Safety with firearms in the field and at home
    =Respect for other people and property
    =Compliance with laws and wildlife regulations
    =Awareness of hunting as a resource management tool.

    Who must be Hunter Education Certified?

    =If you plan to hunt alone with a firearm, you were born on or after January 1, 1967, or you are 16 years of age or older, you will need to take and pass a hunter education course or purchase a Apprentice Hunter Authorization before you can buy a permit. You must be at least 11-years-old to take the Missouri Hunter Education Class.

    =Anyone mentoring a firearms hunter who is not hunter education certified and not hunting on a landowner permit, all mentors, including landowners and lessees hunting on their own land, must be at least 18 years old and hunter education certified unless they were born before January 1, 1967.

    MDC recommends that all hunters take hunter education. To learn more about the program contact the outdoor skills specialist in your area.

    The Hunter Education Class

    This course is recommended for motivated students age 14 and older with good reading and comprehension skills who have some firearm and hunting knowledge or experience. However, students 11 years old and older may be tested and certified in this course. Study materials and tests used are on the 14 age level and students are recommended to go to our Online Hunter Education Course and pre-study, take the reviews and practice tests for free before attending. Students 15 and younger must bring a birth certificate or other proof of age to the course.

    Parents should remember youth in Missouri under 16 years of age now have the opportunity to hunt any legal species through our youth and mentor programs without being Hunter Education Certified. Youth under 16 years of age must hunt with an adult mentor that is properly licensed and meets the requirements and follows the prescribed regulations.

    You will receive a minimum of 10 hours of classroom training plus additional time for testing, practical exercises, videos and other classroom discussion usually taught in two or three sessions. Classes typically require 12-16 total hours to complete. Topics covered include the following:

    =Hunter responsibility and ethics
    =How firearms work and firearm safety
    =Wildlife identification, game care, survival and first aid skills
    =Firearm handling skills and hunting techniques
    =Awareness about wildlife conservation and management
    =Rules and information unique to Missouri.

    At the end of the class you will take a written examination. You need a score of 80 percent to pass the course. Most students pass the test on their first attempt.

    Hunter education is not just for kids and not just for hunters. The program is for all folks who enjoy the outdoors and have an interest in conservation. The course can also be an excellent refresher for veteran hunters.

    Information from www.missouricoservation.org