Kansas Buck Story

Discussion in '2011 Whitetail General' started by bowhuntKS, Nov 9, 2010.

1. bowhuntKS

bowhuntKS King of the White Ninjas

Sep 11, 2006
    KS
    Now this is the story of "Lucky"...my KS buck this year.

It all started out during Muzz. season way back in Sept. I've been hunting a specific deer very hard for 2 years now and he seems to summer on a place I can hunt but if you don't kill him in Sept. he's gone until the late season.

Head out from work one Sept. afternoon...muzzleloader in toe and planned on smoking a doe if I got a crack at one. About 45 minutes before dark I had two nice 8pts walk in...both looked to be 3 1/2 and both were solid deer. The first was a buck I know well and just has a huge spread and great tine length but no mass at all. He wasn't a shooter. The second buck was new on the farm and I had to look him up and down really really close. Good tine length, nice mass and a solid spread. I had the gun up on him, hammer back and elected to pass. Again I'm on the phone with Wings and he's telling me that I'm a moron for not taking this deer. It's early yet and no sense in pushing it. The deer got the name "Lucky" that night.

November rolls around. Not been able to get out much but I head to the stand Monday afternoon...20 mph winds and 70 degrees...fantastic:cool3: Again on the phone with Wings when I see horn coming through the CRP...grab my bow and wait. Lucky pops out and strolls past my stand at 10 yds. He's now on his third life. Get home that night and check weather.com...70's all week long. Made the decision that should Lucky reappear that morning he was gonna get smoked. Same stand due to the stupid SW wind the next morning...back comes Lucky only this time his luck had run out. 30 yd. shot and he went about 45 yds.