JimH?

Discussion in 'Guns & Ammo' started by winger, Mar 16, 2006.

1. winger

winger New Member

Oct 24, 2003
    or anyone in the know,

Time to replace the scope on my .22-250. Being that my play income is very meager I was looking for a decent scope for not a lot of $$$$. Here is my question, you have pretty much sold me on the Mueller from your post here and the post on rimfire central. I have never used an illuminated reticle before and was wondering how much of an advantage they were during the day. I can see their advantage at dawn and dusk but this is for p-dogs and yotes which will mainly be in sunlight. Is there any distinct advantage that I am unaware of when the sun is up?

2. beanpile

beanpile just a no body

I'v got a buddy who just bought an illuminated scope for Pig hunt..I'll ask hm to git with ya let ya knw wazzup

3. BigJake

BigJake New Member

Dec 27, 2005
    I got a bushnell 3200 firefly for a pig hunt I just went on. I like the scope a lot, but didn't get any piggies.

With the firefly you have to shine a flashlight in it for a few seconds to get the illumination. Kind of like watches used to be. It worked great at dusk and dawn (as well as full dark). During the day it was just like any other scope.

I would think that any illuminated reticle scope would be like that. If it is one that uses a battery, you should be able to just leave it off and it will be like a regular scope. When it starts getting dark, flip er on and your good to go.

Good luck with the search.:cheers:

4. huntforfunnfood

huntforfunnfood New Member

Jun 30, 2003
    new bloomfield mo
    yeah the muller scopes are made along the lines of the bsa scopes or the bsa are made like them i guess
    the muller are suspose to be better
    you can shut the dial off and its just like a normal scope
    i would say depending on the back ground turned on low light so to say would make the lighted cross hairs better even in the middle of the day