Missouri Whitetails - Your Missouri Hunting Resource banner
1 - 20 of 51 Posts

·
Registered
245 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am new to waterfowl hunting and I'm wondering how many decoys I need, what species, what size shot, and what size shells? I will mostly be hunting on ponds. Two of these ponds are surrounded by timber. Another one of the ponds backs up to timber, behind this pond there is flooded timber seeing as the top part of the pond's dam is eroded away. I have fond sign by all of these ponds, mainly mallard and woodies but the geese fly low so there is always a chance of those. I am using a Bennelli Super Nova as my gun of choice. I also am wondering if if the shaker feeding duck calls are any good?
Thank You so much for your help!!! :cheers:

·
Registered
11,897 Posts
I not know much about duck hunting. But I will part with some of the stuff I have leanrnd in my years of trying to self teach and stuff I have goten from ppl kind enouf to take me and talk to me about it.

NO such thing as to menny decoys. Thge amount of decoys is only limited to your budget and waight you can cary. Decoy placement is more inportant then decoy numbers.

The most inportant information on duck hunting ever told me was. If you are wear the ducks want to be 90% of the conflict is over.

Just remember that ducks land into the wind.

Other duckhunters will flock to this post and inform you good and proper on how to proper duck hunt.

Just keep in mind there are slow days and slow days in duckhunting. More slow days then limit days.

·
Registered
42,108 Posts
Welcome to the sport :cheers:

The # of dekes depend son the # of birds that frequent your area and/or the size of groups you will see, you want to closely simulate what they see all the time, might be 1 bird might be 240, jus depends on what is "natural" Too many CAN hurt you, too few CAN hurt you.

3" is plenty
Size id go w/ #2's so if you get ducks your safe if you get geese your safe.

Leave the shaker at home.