Missouri Whitetails - Your Missouri Hunting Resource banner
1 - 20 of 37 Posts

·
Jenny's Lackey
46,698 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I don\'t care how long you\'ve done something, complaceny can get ya hurt.

I've been running a tablesaw for well over 25 years. It's almost like second nature to me. Dad always said when ya weren't skeered of your motorcycle anymore was when you were going to get hurt. That pretty well applies to my tablesaw as well.

This morning, I was making a routine rip & was in a hurry to get done & on my way to the jobsite. Fortunately, nothing real bad happened, but I sure got a real eye opener. Had a very severe kickback that literally ripped the 3' board from my hands. Drew blood on both thumbs when it was tore from my hands. Fortunately, at least one of the shop safety rules that was drummed in my head in high school stayed with me. "Do not stand directly behind the blade". Otherwise, I woulda had that board right in the face , cause the front of the board was lifted & slammed into the wall behind me.

Had to utter a few words to the man above, then go change my drawers.:rof2:

·
Registered
3,736 Posts
PW,
I got hit by a board that someone else let get away 1 time & I swore that I was kicked by a mule !! Glad You didn't come up short !!

·
Registered
5,451 Posts
Man that stuff can happen fast. I've got the tip gone from one of my fingers from a jointer kick back. Lucky that was all it was.

·
Jenny's Lackey
46,698 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
Originally posted by Modeerhunter
Originally posted by pinwheel
complaceny can get ya hurt.
I remember that every time I go sticking my hands into a 460 volt electrical panel.
I'm normally very conscientious about moving blades. I literally envision them as glowing red in my minds eye & when my hands get close, I'm very aware of where the blade is. 2 days of being sick didn't do me any favors this morning. Just wasn't mentally there.

·
Registered
69,553 Posts