how do you choose land?

Discussion in 'Sold/Expired Classifieds' started by bigredhusker, Feb 10, 2006.

1. bigredhusker

bigredhusker Member

Jan 25, 2006
    Liberty Missouri
    I'm looking for 40-80 acres near Cameron. How do you go about selecting a property? I'm also NEW to deer hunting and want this property to be used for deer, quail, etc... I'm guessing I want the most timber I can get? water or a creek, etc.? any thoughts or what to look for? use beginner terms.. thanks

2. Lefty

Lefty New Member

Jun 29, 2004
    MO
    Well if I was looking to buy property I would definatly want a creek running throught the place, along with a small lake.

With you mentioning that you would like to have a good habitat for quail I would think that a 75% woods, and 25% fields (crp maybe?) would be a good fit for you. I would also like a place that had a ridge running through it: deer!

I'm sure there are plenty of others on here that have a more detailed and insightful view for you...
    Good luck on your land search!

Just be sure to check out the place, and I mean all of it before you buy. And also try to see about the neibors...

3. Mailman

Mailman Well-Known Member

Feb 2, 2005
    Blue Springs Mo