Missouri Whitetails - Your Missouri Hunting Resource banner
1 - 20 of 306 Posts

· Grrrrrrr
30,190 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Jeff,

I’ve been thinking about writing this for a long time. After watching you argue with all comers for years now I guess now is as good a time as any. The below was written in pieces over the last few days as I’ve had time to sit down and think.

I have a Biology degree with an emphasis on wildlife conservation and management. I wanted to work for the conservation department as a Biologist. I do not work in the field for three main reasons....1) I partied too much in college and didn’t maintain the GPA I needed to get into graduate school. 2) When I graduated...1990....the job market was very tight and a minimum of of a masters degree was practically a must. 3) I landed a job in the chemical industry and soon found that there is a LOT more money to be made in private industry than there is in a government job so I stopped applying for jobs in conservation in 1996. As someone who studied the sciences in an academic setting and continues to work in the sciences I have a very strong understanding of science and more importantly I have a very strong sense of skepticism when it comes to the results of an assay or of a scientific test. I have read a lot of the articles you’ve posted and every single one of them is to be taken as opinion, not fact. Yes...those opinions are generally the best information we have because nature doesn’t give up her secrets readily, someone has to go looking for the answers...but again, those answers are not absolute fact, they are simply conclusions based on the results of a study.....a study conducted by humans in an attempt to understand and ultimately do the impossible...control nature.

Do you have a degree in the sciences or is your education in finance, google and letter writing? If you do have advanced education in the sciences then you should know a lot of what I’m going to say next.