Good choke for 835

Discussion in 'Turkey Hunting General' started by mrmurph, Mar 23, 2006.

1. mrmurph

mrmurph Well-Known Member

Aug 15, 2005
    NW Missouri
    I've been using my 835 for five years now and have never upgraded from the factory turkey choke. I know there has to be a better one out there and am curious if anyone at MWT's might have a recommendation they would make.

I'm confident that I get a better pattern with the right choke, just need a little help finding the right one.

Thanks!

2. MATTG

MATTG Member

Dec 8, 2005
    MID-MO
    I have a Mad Maxx Choke (lead shot only). I shoot Winchester Supremes #5 2.25 oz shot and at 25 yards the pattern is ridiculous. I took a bird that hung up at a distance that I would not reccommend with no problem.

According to the Hunter Specialties Target, it claims you only need 5 shots in the neck/head area to be considered optimum range. I can do this at 70 yards but would never shoot that far. At 50 yards, I have 20+ pellets in the head and neck.

My dad has the Kick's Gobbling Thunder and gets the same results with the Remington Premier #6 2.25 oz.

The Mad Maxx Choke is about $45 and the Kicks is aound $60.

3. MATTG

MATTG Member

Dec 8, 2005
    MID-MO
    One more thing, I would recommend getting aftermarket sights. I put Fiber optic rifle sights on my 835. These sights have microadjustments for windage and elevation. The factory sights have 3 windage settings. When the bird is in tight and you do not have the gun dialed in perfectly, it will not be too hard to totally miss with these new chokes.

Matt

4. 67Firebird

67Firebird Chicken Man

Mine came with a NWTF Extra-Full, which works just fine in mine. You don't say what the problem is, but if your pattern is too open just look for a tighter choke.

5. JimH

JimH Active Member

Nov 6, 2003
    St. Louis