Geese flying over

Discussion in 'Duck & Goose Hunting' started by LovinTheHuntin, Jan 29, 2018.

1. LovinTheHuntin

LovinTheHuntin Member

Mar 13, 2013
    I have never hunted ducks/geese with anyone. Im new to it and ive got a few geese decoys out on my pond behind the house. Im not sure if they are correct in The way they are set up or maybe something else is going on im not aware of.
    I had geese flying just out of range with the shot gun tonight probably 12 different times. Other geese flying near by, close enough to see the pond but not coming in. I only have about 12 standing geese,12 shell sleepers,about 6 floaters.
    They fly right to the pond then turn last second and go around.
    Ive had live geese land in the pond before but usually spring. Infact they lay eggs and hang out a while after they hatch.
    What is recommended to get some geese closer or even land? Is it because my house is too close? The pond is right out the back door. Maybe someone wants to come school me and hunt!!!! They dont fly over every night but tonight were hundreds. And from every direction.
  2. techteacher

techteacher Land buying addiction Lifetime Supporting Member

Sep 11, 2009

3. Skduckhunt

Skduckhunt Senior Member

Dec 29, 2002
    St. Charles, Mo
    You would be surprised how many hunters get busted by flashing the back of their hand or even their face or neck. Being covered up is the most important part of learning to hunt waterfowl. If you put out more than 2 dozen break them up into family groups of 5-8 decoys. Are you leaving them a landing hole within your range? Let them land in your decoys.. Then when you move, they will take to flight and that will be your best time to shoot. Where are you located?
    Wings Fan 19 likes this.
  4. LovinTheHuntin

LovinTheHuntin Member

Mar 13, 2013