Fish Finder Question

Discussion in 'Fishing Gear & Tackle' started by DustinK, Dec 26, 2017.

1. DustinK

DustinK Member

Sep 24, 2012
    Webb City, Mo
    I'm in the market for a down imaging fish finder to go on my Classic accessories inflatable pontoon and I'm brand new to fish finders. I have decided on the Humminbird Helix 5.

My question is, do I need the GPS? I only fish small lakes of 25 acres or less and strip pits. I obviously don't need a GPS to find my way but can I mark waypoints such as brush piles and structure if the unit doesn't have the GPS?

My main reason for getting this is to locate schooling crappie in some of the deep pits I fish and marking structure when I find it so I can go back to it later.

Thanks for the help.

Dustin

2. DougC

DougC Well-Known Member

Dec 1, 2008
    Independence
    You will need the gps to mark any spots.

3. txcobowhunter

txcobowhunter Deer Gear Collecter

Oct 5, 2008
    Texas County
    You will like the Helix 5. You will need the GPS to mark way points.

4. RRMan

RRMan Active Member

Mar 9, 2009
    Savannah MO
    I have a helix 5 and love it, definitely not the fanciest thing out there but is way better than my old outdated stuff. GPS is a must for new stuff when I find it

5. Mailman

Mailman Well-Known Member

Feb 2, 2005
    Blue Springs Mo
    I have the Helix 5 also and it even tells me how fast I'm going in search of the next fishless spot at Truman Lake. There is no way I can learn all the stuff this unit can do. I'm pretty simple minded when it comes to fish finders.

6. h_callahan

h_callahan Senior Member

Nov 14, 2008
    warren county
    I got the helix 5 on my boat and it is a serviceable unit for the price range. Its a very popular unit for a reason. You will be happy with it

7. Gakic24

Gakic24 Well-Known Member

Spend the money on a good graph and get a cheap hand held to mark your spots.

8. Sully

Sully Bait Plotter Extraordinar

Aug 28, 2007
    Truman lake , MO