Missouri Whitetails - Your Missouri Hunting Resource banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

· Registered
135 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Second year in a row for the ridge field not producing beans. Christian county, lots of rocks, not great soil. The field has a few beans here and there, but nothing that would canopy over or look at all like a field of crops. Looks barren and brown. I will drill rye and some clover and brassicas this fall (and likely give up this bean quest), but should I plant anything now or just leave the field fallow and spray in late August before planting the fall crop? I appreciate your advice as I am not experienced in this but sure do enjoy the process.

· Registered
20,349 Posts
Been there my friend... it's like forcing a round peg into a square hole... in my limited experience your better off researching what will survive and possibly strive in the soil conditions / topography where your farm is located.. what works great on another individuals piece of dirt doesn't always translate to yours. I tend to favor plantings that will help build your soil. Clovers throughout the summer followed by Cereal grains in the fall will help add OM (organic matter) to your soil. Cereal grains/OM terminated the proper way will keep moisture in the ground and weed competition at bay...

· Registered
13,452 Posts
Soil test for clover, amend and then plant 50# rye, 12# red clover per acre around labor day. The following year, you can disc in everything while it's still green and replant this mix again. Do that for a few years and then try doing your beans again. Personally, I prefer to just cut the plot in half and rotate sides each year with a brassica and cereal grain mix.

· Registered
135 Posts
Discussion Starter · #9 ·