Depleting Deer Numbers?

Discussion in '2011 Whitetail General' started by NEMOBowhunter, Nov 10, 2010.

1. NEMOBowhunter

NEMOBowhunter Member

Oct 4, 2010
    NEMO
    Over the past 2-3 years the deer numbers in our area seem to be on a decline. I have been bowhunting for about 16 years and the past couple years have been the worst I have seen. The most deer I have seen in one sit this year is 5, and I have had a lot of hunts where I saw 0. One thing that worries me, is the fact that we hardly ever see does. We see mostly small bucks if we see anything at all. Don't get me wrong, I like seeing and harvesting bucks, but I like seeing does too! I attribute this to the antler restriction and people shooting more does, but it seems crazy not having the does around. Is it because Missouri allows you to purchase all the antlerless tags you want? I feel bad even drawing back on a doe. Does anybody else see similar trends, or is it just in my area? My whole family hunts and we are hunting spots that usually produce a lot of deer sightings, and this year it has been the same for all of us. Last year I blamed it on all the crops still in the field, but this year I don't have any good excuses. Not trying to start any rants, just looking for some opinions.

2. JrNation88

JrNation88 Active Member

Jan 2, 2009
    BOCO
    i believe there are folks who are educated in this type of thing and make their living studying it. they see alot more than we do just sitting in stands. So until they put out their research I will go with that all is okay...just my opinion

3. Kickers288

Kickers288 Active Member