Featured Deer Stand Upgrade?

Discussion in 'Whitetails General' started by Woods, May 16, 2018 at 11:29 PM.

1. Woods

Woods Cooyon, Back from NOLA

I have been using a climber for many years, and I am not getting any younger.
    This fall I am thinking it is time for something that will stay in the tree for the season.
    Not sure if I want to go with a ladder stand or sticks and hang on.
    99% will be bow hunting with a compound bow.

*Not looking to do a box/enclosed stand for now.

SUGGESTIONS?

Thanks in Advance
    WOODS

2. ducksNbucks

ducksNbucks Senior Member

Mar 13, 2011
    Lathrop, MO
    Ladders are def easier to get in/out of than a hang on is.

DCSarchette, Bootheel Boy and Woods like this.

3. flatlander_

flatlander_ Really? Show me. .

My vote is ladder stands. I've gotten almost completely away from hang ons and don't regret it one bit. Ladders are just much easier to deal with imo.

DPx2 and Woods like this.
  4. Mailman

Mailman Well-Known Member

Feb 2, 2005
    Blue Springs Mo
    Ladders can be a problem putting them up if you are alone but it can be done. Two people no problem putting one up. As of today I have 5 ladder stands and could use 2 or 3 more at a few more prime spots. It would be nice to have an enclosed deer stand when its raining or really cold just in case your old bones don't want to sit out in the weather.

5. Hawk

Hawk Well-Known Member Sponsor

Oct 15, 2009
    I like to use my climbers as hangons with ladders steps

6. KRAZO

KRAZO Active Member

Jul 28, 2017
    Southwest MO
    Ladder. So easy to hunt out of one

7. WBF

WBF Wolf Brook Farms

Oct 25, 2013
    Ladders with zero gravity seats... one morning/evening in a zero gravity ladder stand like a millennium or X-Stand will have you selling every other stand you own!

A few pop up blinds for the ground or on 5 to 10 ft scaffolding or wooden built platform are really nice when it's cold or the rain/in-climate weather hits ...