Decoy ratio?

Discussion in 'Turkey Hunting General' started by Porkchopsandwiches, Apr 19, 2006.

1. Porkchopsandwiches

Porkchopsandwiches New Member

Sep 20, 2005
    St. Charles
    What's a good ratio of decoys to use? 1 hen and 1 jake, or 1 hen 2 jakes, 2 hens and 2 jakes, 2 hens and 1 jake, blah , blah, blah?

2. Keith

Keith New Member

Dec 13, 2002
    Springfield, MO.
    I am no pro by any means. I use at least three hens and one jake.

3. I wouldnt ever use more than one jake. Alot of times dominant birds wont come in with even one jake because they dont wanna fight. Those jake decoys are mainly good when the breeding is really hot. I usually only use hens but i have used a hen down in breeding position and a jake in mounting position to make birds jealous to get them to pitch across the river. Just my opinion but if you are using one call use one hen. I usually use 2 hen decoys but i use a mouth call and slate call in combination. This is just my rule of thumb but if a bird seems really receptive just use hen decoys. But if he seams like his willing to wait on the hen to come to him throw out your jake decoy and throw in some inmature gobbles. That is just for private land though. NEVER use a gobble call on public land. But back to the decoys your best bet is to use no more than one jake decoy if you are gonna use one. Because several jakes will intimidate alot of gobblers. Always remember your best chance with a hot gobbler is the sexual attraction of a hot hen. And with a jake theres always that chance of a bird not wanting to compete for a hen especially if you are in an area with lots of birds.

hope this helps

chad

4. Porkchopsandwiches

Porkchopsandwiches New Member

Sep 20, 2005
    St. Charles
    Thanks for the low-down lads!!! When I get my bird, I'll post some pics!!!

5. FiremanBrad

FiremanBrad New Member

I agree with Rocko....I don't use a jake that often anymore, but when I do, I only carry one.

6. Rebel2

Rebel2 Well-Known Member