DANGER! 2 stroke outboards

Discussion in 'Fishing General' started by igor, Mar 23, 2006.

1. igor

igor Active Member

Mar 8, 2006
    congress in all of thier wisdom has mandated that
    all gas formulated in the us can no longer have
    mtbe as an oxeginate it is to be replaced by a
    10 percent ethenol blend. this is bad for 2 cycle
    engines using anything but a synthetic oil.
    guys i'm no expert on this the local boat dealer
    said to run notheing but synthetic oil, and
    to put a fuel water seperator in the supply line.
    be carefull and any input would be appreciated.
    higbee.

2. huntforfunnfood

huntforfunnfood New Member

Jun 30, 2003
    new bloomfield mo
    not only outboards but any small engine, chain saws mowers weedeater they all hate ethenol even a 10 percent blend

3. Cherokee

Cherokee New Member

Feb 5, 2005
    Ought to be nice on my new Stihl :mad:

4. Woods

Woods Cooyon, Back from NOLA

I already had the stuff eat the o-rings out of the carb in my riding mower. I now add a fuel additive/preservative to my fuel tanks.

5. beanpile

beanpile just a no body

guess you'lljust have yto watch where you get your fuel for now on

boy I love a complicated life

6. membergone

membergone New Member

Jan 17, 2004
    I'm a little confused. (What's new?)

DSG has been using Casey's 91 octane ethanol blend on every two stroker that I own for years. Frankly I think I have less problems with things than most.

Again. I am confused.

7. huntforfunnfood

Jun 30, 2003
    new bloomfield mo
    dsg

truth about it is most newer engines will run on just a 10% blend. older ones can be touchy.

although its awful for me to say growing up on a farm and being full blooded farmer i personally am not a big fan of ethonal its a not liking change factor i guess