Missouri Whitetails - Your Missouri Hunting Resource banner
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
70,598 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Since I'm new to this sport of muzzle loader shooting I'm gona ask some questions. As for the grease for your breech plug I know that each of the name brand muzzler loader companies supply their own type of grease but I try to cut corners whenever I can to save a nickle or two. I have bought a small tube of T/C brand of grease but it is just a bit steep in price for the amount that you get. I was at a local discount store and found a bottle (8 oz.) of Loctite Nickel Anti-Seize for $1.99. It says on the bottle "Lubricant that Protects Metal Parts from Seizing and Galling to 2400 degrees F." It also says "It is recommended where copper contamination must be avoided, under conditions of extreme pressure and temperature, and with stainless steel, titanium and nickel alloys." Any comments from you experts?

Attachments

·
Registered
11,973 Posts
They make some "cheap" muzzloader breachplug greases but you might be better off to be safe than sorry. You will find out one day what a frozen breach plug is like and you will spend that extra cash.

·
Registered
38,303 Posts
Whichever brand you decide to use, you CAN use too much, but don't be afraid to use enough...lol. I personally use the Knight grease...found on clearance after the season. I would imagine that the anti seize above would work just fine, but I know that stuff is hard to clean off when you want too...won't hardly come out of your jeans from wipin your hands off!!!!

·
Registered
38,303 Posts
Originally posted by Mailman
Fireman didn't yo momma teach you different. S'pose to use yo shirt tail.
Tall as I am, momma couldn't afford shirts dat had tails...hehehe

·
Registered
70,598 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·