Featured Boone County Public Land

Discussion in 'Whitetails General' started by mmwat, May 14, 2018 at 3:39 PM.

1. mmwat

mmwat New Member

Monday
    Hey Everyone,

This is my first time posting on this forum. Do to a recent trip out west I have decided to take up hunting again. I went as a kid through high school in Howard and Cooper Counties but quit when I went to college. I have lost access to the private land I hunted on when I was younger, so I was wondering if anyone had any public land recommendations for the deer firearms portion this fall? I would like to get an early start on planning and scouting since public land during rifle season seems to be notorious for large crowds.

Opening weekend I plan on going to Marion County with my father in law, but after that, I would like to go somewhere locally. Without any actual knowledge of the area, it seems like the Cedar Creek region of Mark Twain would be someplace I could trek into and avoid having too much pressure from other hunters?

So if anyone has any other recommendations or experience with the Cedar Creek region of Mark Twain let me know. I'm excited to rejoin the Missouri Hunting community.

2. deep woods goat hunter

deep woods goat hunter Well-Known Member

Jul 6, 2004
    Moberly, MO
    I would recommend sitting out pumpkin season and investing in a bow if you are limited to hunting public ground.

3. mmwat

mmwat New Member

Monday
    Probably the right choice. I've just got a new rifle so I'm interested in getting something in Missouri with it since it will be a while before I have the cash to go elsewhere. Hopefully, I'll be able to get something on my Father In-laws land.

Crappie likes this.
  4. reitzs

reitzs Well-Known Member

Jan 13, 2008
    Columbia
    Cedar Creek area is probably a good place to start. I think those hiking trails get used a lot so I would look for a spot away from those...or at least with a thick, iniviting barrier between.

5. t-tomshooter