Missouri Whitetails - Your Missouri Hunting Resource banner
1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
740 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
This is a buck I have been tracking for the last several years that I thought some might find interesting. All pictures are of the same buck. I added the first two pictures just to show his growth rate. The first simply shows a promising yearling. The second picture shows very good progress as a 10 point two year old. The third and fourth picture are both from his third year. The first shows what he looked like in his prime. The second, taken in January, shows him in very poor condition. This was due to being wounded during the alternative season in late December. Our neighbor had called and informed us they had seen a buck that had been wounded run up on their place and then looped around back onto our farm. We never did find out who shot him. We tracked him in a circle for a couple miles until he crossed onto another neighbor and we determined we weren't going to be able to recover him. Unfortunately, you can't see the wound in the fourth picture taken a couple weeks after being wounded, but we were pretty skeptical as to whether he would survive after losing so much weight. But, as you can see in the fifth picture he did survive to 4 1/2. Interestingly, he seems to show no negative effects in antler growth. This is somewhat contrary to what is generally stated, since poor body condition late in the winter is normally supposed to negatively effect antler growth. So overall, I was pleasantly surprised.

Sky Plant Tree Natural landscape Wood
Plant Branch Deer Organism Tree
Plant Tree Deer Natural landscape Fawn
Snow Branch Plant Deer Tree
Head Plant Black Natural material Organism

·
Under appreciated
89,279 Posts
doosey

·
Registered
14,280 Posts
Interesting. I'd have guessed negative antler growth after being wounded. Amazingly tough animals.

Reactions: 20'

·
Under appreciated
89,279 Posts