are the bucks going to shed this year?

Discussion in 'Whitetails General' started by grimreaper8, Mar 8, 2006.

1. grimreaper8

grimreaper8 New Member

Sep 23, 2005
    went out today saw three bucks still packin both sides, without a doubt the latest ive ever seen the majority of bucks still packin, by last year i know that probably 80 percent were down, do you think that the bucks will be in velvet longer this year due to the late shedding
  2. Hoytshooter

Hoytshooter Active Member

Mar 7, 2005
    Small Buck, MO
    I'm no expert but I don't think they're holding them any later than normal, especially compared to last year.
    I imagine about half have already shed and the rest will be done for the most part by the end of the month. Doesn't seem much later than normal to me.
    There are always deer shedding early and deer that shed late into april even.

3. Vector

Vector VECtor Custom Calls

Feb 11, 2003
    N/C MO
    Saw deer with horns in April last year....... They'll drop 'em when they want to.

People talk every year about them dropping early, or dropping late. I have yet to have anyone say they dropped right on time.

Everyone around here was saying that they were dropping early THIS year.

4. Redonthehead

Redonthehead Active Member

May 2, 2005
    I glassed three bucks a week ago that had dropped theirs, but I couldn't find any sheds. I saw one forkie still toting his.

My son found a nice shed three weeks ago.

TOBRYAN Well-Known Member

Dec 4, 2002
    Liberty, Mo
    If they are holding on to their antlers thats is suppose to be a good thing or so thats what I heard. The nutrition and all around environment is good for those bucks.
  6. Outdoorsfool

Outdoorsfool New Member

Jul 14, 2003
    Central Missouri
    Saw a young feller (forkhorn) last night still sporting his headgear. It must be working for him because he had 2 fine lookin' young ladies with him. :D
  7. Cburrows_tx

Cburrows_tx New Member

Nov 24, 2004
    Lamar Co. Texas