Any welders / fabricator's in here???

Discussion in 'MWT Community Bulletin Board' started by swmo, Jan 31, 2006.

1. Been thinking for some time now that I may want to put a raised deck on the front of my boat for bowfishing. Just curious on what to expect price wise. Looking no more than a foot tall, approx 5 foot wide and approx 4 foot length with about a one to two foot rail. Would like to stick w/ aluminum. Any ideas what to expect cost wise???? thanks.

swmo

2. Hoytshooter

Hoytshooter Active Member

Mar 7, 2005
    Small Buck, MO
    I'm no professional but I build alot of stuff for myself. I get my steel either from scrap that I get or if I buy it it's usually from smith's in KS. I think you can get 1" square aluminum tubing for around $1.80/ft but it may have gone up since the last time I priced it. One of the more expensive parts to your project would be the flooring material I think. Depends on what you want that to be made of. Diamond plate is expensive, but no flat sheets will be too cheap. Just counting your materials, not your gas or welding wire, or time, I would imagine you could have $150 in it pretty quick. Just a guess though.
    If I knew exactly what you needed I could make a phone call and tell you what the place I get it from would charge.

3. FiremanBrad

FiremanBrad New Member

Seems to me I read a post like this on another forum...I'll U2U ya swmo..

4. Bowkil

Bowkil New Member

Aug 4, 2005
    Ozark Plateau
    whoo hoo finally got my internet back!!

im a welder, and if your gonna want aluminum its gonna cost more, not just for the metal, but the welding. tig costs alot more than regular stick welding. i just bought a tig 185, but if someone has a mig with aluminum wire than it costs less.
    i would make it out of 3" angle iron and put expanded metal for the flooring.
    as for cost ways the metal at least $100 plus you gotta pay the welder.
    i wish we lived closer as i would kindly do the welding for some hunting privedges.