materbuilt smoker trouble. please help with suggestions

Discussion in 'Social Club' started by h_callahan, Apr 18, 2017.

1. h_callahan

h_callahan Senior Member

Nov 14, 2008
    warren county
    I have a masterbuilt electric smoker that will run for 4-5 min and then it will trip the GFI. I cleaned the coil and took apart the rheostat to check for corrosion and it all looks o.k. but 4 years of use does show. I don't know if I am missing something or just chalk it up to "its run its course and is just wore out"

anyone have this problem ?

suggestions are welcome.

thanks

2. Fuldraw

Fuldraw Fuldraw

Dec 8, 2013
    Try a different outlet to see if the gfi is getting weak
    If it's not that idk

3. UrbanHunter

UrbanHunter Active Member

Check and see if you have 2 GFI's in series. There can be only one (great quote from some movie somewhere).
    We had that somehow in our house, and I had to eliminate one.

Also, (and I doubt this is the case) if you have a GFI breaker... lose it. They're funky. I can't run a brushed electric motor on my bedroom GFI circuit.

4. pinwheel

pinwheel Jenny's Lackey

Jun 17, 2006
    middle of nowhere
    GFI is probably only 15 amp. Not heavy enough for the smoker.

5. Dafish

Dafish Senior Member

Nov 24, 2010
    St. Peters
  6. MAJORTOM

MAJORTOM Active Member

Mar 14, 2006
    At work as usual
    Check the connections at the heating element. Masterbuilts are notorious about the connections either overheating or corroding.

7. h_callahan

h_callahan Senior Member

Nov 14, 2008
    warren county
    I have 2 dedicated circuits with a 20 amp GFI. I ran these when i got the smoker figured i would do 2 when i was at it in case of needs down the road. Well same thing happens on both GFI. Plug it in let it run and after 4-5 min it will trip the gfi.
    There are no visible cracks or damage to the element.

I would hate to drop money on it when i can't find the problem.